Accurate modeling of single Coulomb scattering of electrons

Hi all,

Total beginner here (both to GEANT4 and to C++ code in general), please go easy on me :slight_smile:

I want to model Coulomb scattering of a near-GeV beam of electrons in a few gases (H2, N2, Ar) at quite low density and physical length. The conditions for multiple scattering are not fulfilled, so I need to use the most accurate single scattering model that I can. I have the code running and doing some not unreasonable stuff, but I need help setting up and checking that I’m using the correct models.

1. After browsing through the Physics Reference Manual, it appears that I should be using the G4eSingleScatteringModel (p. 111-113). On p. 57 in the Guide for Physics Lists, I find the G4EmStandardPhysicsSS, which seems to be tailored for single Coulomb scattering. However, I can’t find an explicit confirmation of this anywhere. In my PhysicsList.cc file I have entered #include "G4EmStandardPhysicsSS.hh" at the very top, and at the bottom I have
    void PhysicsList::ConstructProcess() { // Define transportation process fEmPhysicsList = new G4EmStandardPhysicsSS(); AddTransportation(); fEmPhysicsList->ConstructProcess(); }.
    Does this add the G4eSingleScatteringModel the way that I expect (if it’s indeed clear what I expect…)?

2. I want to extract the number of electron-nucleus interactions that each electron experiences. How do I do this? I have been trying to look at some code examples, but it’s really not very clear to me.

3. In my Googling adventures, I have come across documents where the simulation step size is varied, which in those cases affected the results significantly. The situation here is similar for point 2. How do I tweak this parameter?