Energy spectrum output

Hi,

I’m new to Geant4 and trying to make a simple application which is supposed to be very similar to example B1. So I started with that example and tweaked it a little. My particlegun shoots neutrons on a polyethylene box and I want to know the energy spectrum of the neutrons coming out of the polyethylene. I set up a sensitive detector directly behind the polyethylene and in the ProcessHits method I get the kineticEnergy.

But I don’t know how I can get this energy to output in a csv. In general, I am quite lost in the application of Hit, Hitcollections and Analysis altogether. Could someone help me out?

Thanks in advance

2 Likes

I also interested to this topic

1 Like

Basic example B1 is too simple but please try basic example B4 that demonstrates how to make useful output for you.

Hi, I am interested to this topic, did you get a spectrum from a similar B1 example application? I would like to get the energy output spectrum for a gamma source Inside a spherical detector. What did you modify in the B1 example for get an output file?
Thanks in advance

It’s very simple if you can use Matlab.

Yeah, or with Python. What I did in the end was making my polyethyelene box a SensitiveDetector and in processHits method find the step->GetPreStepPoint->GetVolume and the step->GetPostStepPoint->GetVolume. Then if the preVolume is my sensitive detector and the postVolume is World then I get the kineticEnergy and write it to an Ntuple. Collecting the data from the Ntuple with Python or Matlab should be easy.

1 Like

Hi,

Thank you for your answers I got the energy output spectrum for a gamma source by writing in a csv file. Then I plotted a histogram on Matlab.

I am a new Geant4 user without a lot a c++ knowledges. Could you please help me to set my source as an isotropic source? On example B1 I would like to change parameters for seting a isotropic source. Do I have to set it on fParticleGun, if yes with which function?