Biasing problem: track weight is sometimes reset to 1

Hi everyone!
I am studying the environmental background due to radioactive decays in the walls of the experimental hall. Since there is a lot of suppression, I used a geometrical biasing to increase the particle flux, however I have an anomalously high number of particles that arrive in the detector with weight=1; even thought they must have been split several times before. Do you have any idea how this could happen?

Here more details: the detector is encased in a cylindrical copper shield, 12 cm thick, I divided this shield into 12 concentric shells, and each gamma (main source of background) which goes from one shell to the next is doubled (I also make sure that the particles are split only when moving towards the detector, not away from it). I would expect that all the gamma’s that arrive at the detector have a weight of 1/2^11 (since they are not split when entering the first shell nor when they come out the last one).

The results I find are the following:

a) When NO biasing is used, with 10^5 primary events I find 9 gamma’s in the detector
b) With biasing (and 10^5 primary events), most of the events (around 12,200) have the expected weight of 1/2^11; if we multiply this number by the weight, we get around 6, which IMHO is consistent with the previous result
c) I have few events (order of few hundreds) with lower weight (between 1/2^12 to 1/2^20), my guess that this is due either to multiple splitting (i.e. the cloned track is wrongly seen in the wrong volume: for the biasing I mostly followed example GB03, but for other reasons I had to remove the condition track->GetCurrentStepNumber()!=1 ), or maybe from particles bouncing around. This is not really a big problem, however, since the total weight of this kind of tracks is quite low, moreover all these gamma’s have very low energy