Error running example B1

I am brand new to Geant4. Attempting to run example B1 run1.mac results in a fatal exception and core dump with the following error. I have not found other posts with this same error.

-------- EEEE ------- G4Exception-START -------- EEEE -------
*** G4Exception : had014
issued by : G4LevelReader::LevelManager(…)
for Z= 1 A= 1 is not opened!

*** Fatal Exception *** core dump ***
**** Track information is not available at this moment
**** Step information is not available at this moment

-------- EEEE -------- G4Exception-END --------- EEEE -------

In getting started I had other errors due to missing datasets, but the error indicated what data was missing so that I could fix the error…I don’t have any idea how to proceed from this point. I can post the entire output resulting from running run1.mac. The error showed up after the /run/beamOn command. I got the same error when stepping through the commands in exampleB1.in and giving the command /run/beamOn

Have you sourced the “geant4.sh” script before running the example? That script should set all of the envvars needed to find the datasets, including G4LEVELGAMMADATA.

When you did your G4 installation, did it download and install all of the datasets?

Thanks for the suggestions @mkelsey. To answer your questions. Yes, I did source the geant4.sh script, but my installation did not apparently install any of the datasets. As I attempted to run the example I would encounter errors that pointed to failure to find a specific dataset. I would then install that dataset. But the error I wrote about in my post did not seem to point to a specific dataset so it wasn’t clear that the problem was concerned with a missing dataset.