Getting the energy deposited by a specific gamma photon in a multiparticle source?

Hello all,

I have a multivolume(different physical copy numbers) detector.
The primary generator generates Multiple gammas simultaneously at the start of the event.

Is it possible to get the total energy deposited by each gamma individually on an event-by-event basis? Currently, I am getting the total energies deposited in the various volumes.
However, it ‘includes’ energies from two different gammas in the same volume and ‘excludes’ energy by the same gamma into multiple volumes (for example by Compton scattering).

I think if there is some attribute that remains the same for all the particles produced(e-, scattered gamma) from a given particle(gamma), I can access that and sum the energies accordingly.

I am a beginner in the concepts of Track, Step Stack, etc, if someone can please offer any assistance/hints it will be really helpful.

Please let me know if I am not able to clear the issue or more info.

Thanking You

If you do run/beamOn 10, then you are going to have 10 events in 1 run.

So you can implement some counting, recording, etc in your endofeventaction function. For instance, you would record the energy deposited from one event (one gamma), output that information to a file, and at the end of your run you can have recorded the energy depositions for each event (each gamma)

HI @loydms,

Thanks for your reply.

I am currently dealing with a specific case where I have more than one gamma per event, so doing

/run/beamOn 10 

Will have 10 events in one run, and each event can have multiple gammas.

I think I have the event-by-event information on the total energy deposited. However, this energy deposited can be due to ‘pileup’ of more than one gammas generated in each event. I am wondering how to scoop out the individual energies deposited by different gammas from the total energy deposited.

Please let me know fo further clarifications.

Thank You!