GRAS /vis 'COMMAND NOT FOUND'

Hi everyone!

I am new to GRAS, and I am looking for help.

First, it seems I cannot add basic /vis commands in my macro files. For example, basic commands like “/vis/open” or “/vis/scene/create” do not appear to be working, as I always get the same error message : COMMNAND NOT FOUND. Do you have an idea what causes this issue?

Next, I just wanted to ask if there is a way with GRAS to enter the /help command? When using G4 or any other G4 application (like SSAT), when I write /help on the command prompt I get a list of all the possible commands, which is VERY handy for a beginner. Unfortunately, it seems like GRAS can only execute macro file, and has no “command prompt” where I can enter anything else that the usual "gras <macro.g4mac> command.

Thank you so much for your help! There is not a lot of documentation on GRAS, so any help will be extremely appreciated.

I’m afraid we probably can’t usefully help here as GRAS is a third party application, so I would try and contact the GRAS developers here.

All I can suggest is that if it takes a macro input, you could try putting the /help command in a macro and run?

Hi bmorgan,

Thank you for your reply! I just managed to get it working. Here’s what I did:

Before building anything, you’ll find a C++ source file located at gras-XX-XX/source/executable/gras.cc

All I did was to remove any ifdef G4VIS_USE or ifdef G4_USE condition. For some reason when executing gras, even if UIVIS was set to ON during the cmake building, the program couldn’t pass through these two conditions.

Now it’s working fine. When using gras I can enter the INTERACTIVE mode, and /vis commands work perfectly.

My only problem now is that I cannot keep the visualsation windows open once the simulation is completed. I’ll dig into that now.

Great, glad you got it working! Just to note that the G4UI_USE and G4VIS_USE definitions are no longer required, so you did the right thing there.