How to select daughter decays

Hi all,
I’d like to check the whole decay of the 177Lu metastable, separating each component. I mean, 177mLu decays into 177Lu (which decays into 177Hf) and into 177Hf. I want to select each time what channel to follow, stopping the others. I tried using /grdm/nucleusLimits 177 177 71 71 but, since 177Lu has the same A and Z, it obviously did not work.

Could anyone suggest me an alternative method? I’m a beginner with geant4.

Thank you in advance

Claretta

I also tried to use
/grdm/nucleusLimits 170 170 70 70
with which I expected the decay of the secondary 177Lu was disabled. However I obtained more counts under the 208keV peak than without any limit. How is it possible? Now I think I didn’t understand the mechanism of the /grdm/nucleusLimits command.

Ciao Claretta,

one possibility would be to check the secondary nuclei that are generated by the primary decay of Lu177m. I mean, you generate Lu177m as initial state of Geant4. Then, in the StackAction you can see what’s is produced by the decay: if you meet “Lu177[0.0]” (i.e. the ground state), you can flag the event as IT, if you meet a Hf177 nucleus, you have the beta- branch.

The logic to implement would be something like

if (particle is a nucleus && particle is created by RadioactiveDecay)
   //check name, A and Z to decide which channel you are

I think that you cannot do that by UI commands only, but you need some coding. Hope it helps. Luciano

1 Like

Hi Claretta, in addition to Luciano’s comment, you may want to look at the extended examples on radioactive decay.

Cheers
Susanna

1 Like

Hi all,
I’ve studied a lot in these days and your suggestions were very very very usefull. However I’m still a little bit confused about my code.