HPGe model for efficiency calbration

Hello all,
I’m a postgraduate student and I have been working with Geant4 for only one year. I’m trying to model a HPGe detector in order to obtain an “ideal” efficiency calibration curve. I’m trying to calculate the mentioned curve by using the gamma spectra of two different radionuclides: 177Lu and 177mLu. Since 177mLu decays into 177Lu, they have two emission energies in common (113 keV and 208 keV), thus efficiency values in these energy points must be the same. However efficiency points derived from the 177Lu spectrum seems to be always higher than the 177mLu-derived ones.
In both cases I used the G4RadioactiveDecayPhysics and the G4EmStandardPhysics_option4() to activate the decay and the EM processes. In the case of 177mLu, I set the excited energy of the particle source at 970.17 keV, whereas for the 177Lu source I set it to 0 keV.
I also tried to run a simple gamma source with the correspondent emission probabilities and the derived efficiency points are comparable with the 177mLu-derived ones. Thus, I’m wondering if Geant have some problems with the 177Lu decay or not. I checked emission intensities in the RadioactiveData and LevelGammaData files and they appear correct.

I really do not know how to solve this problem. Any suggestion and idea is really appreciated. And sorry for my bad English.

I’m waiting for your answer and thank you in advance.

Claretta

Just moving this to the Physics category as should get a better response here.

Ok, thank you very much!

Ciao Claretta,

I am not sure that I got the problem right. By “efficiency” here you mean the fraction of gammas entering into your HPGe and which release the entire energy in it? Indeed, I expect that this depends only on the energy on the gamma, so this should be the same for 177mLu, 177Lu and “primary” gamma-rays. Since physics models are exactly the same in the three cases, I expect this has nothing to do with the physics settings.