macOSX/XQuartz: scene tree and viewer empty

Dear Geant4 Users,

I am new to Geant4 and I am trying to run the first examples given in the documentation.
I am working remotely on lxplus and use the software from CVMFS. I can successfully compile and run the basic examples interactively (>$ examples/basic/B1/exampleB1), the interactive window pops up and everything looks good except for the empty viewer-0. The Scene tree is also empty.

I see this issue when connecting to lxplus from my local mac machine (OSX 10.15.7), but not when connecting to lxplus from another linux machine (Debian 10.9 for that matters), so this is probably not an issue with the installation, but rather with the display forwarding on mac and/or with XQuartz (I am using the most up-to-date version: 2.8.1). The Geant4 output looks correct in both cases.

This issue has already been described in 2019 here: Qt viewer: scene tree empty, but remains unsolved (there was a ping on the thread for a similar one year ago, without more success).
This other thread Remote visualisation problem also suggests to change

defaults write org.macosforge.xquartz.X11 enable_iglx -bool true

which didn’t help in my case (this describes another issue).

Any idea is welcome!
Cheers,
Antoine

PS: Geant4 setup if needed:

source /cvmfs/sft.cern.ch/lcg/views/LCG_100/x86_64-centos7-gcc10-opt/setup.sh
cd /cvmfs/sft.cern.ch/lcg/views/LCG_100/x86_64-centos7-gcc10-opt/bin/
source geant4.sh

Hi Antoine

People have had problems with the latest version of XQuartz, although not exactly the same problem as yours, I think (I would have to do more research). But I recommend staying with XQuartz 2.7.11 (xorg-server 1.18.4) for now. Is it possible for you to back-install XQuartz and try it for us?

John

Hello John,