Making an Application

Geant4 Version: 11.2.1
Operating System: Windows 10
Compiler/Version: g++
CMake Version: 3.29

Hello! I am very new to Geant4 but have successfully installed the program and run the B1 example. Now that everything is installed, I want to know how one actually goes about making their first application. Do I just open up a VSCode C++ file, start coding, then make a CMakeLists.txt file? I’m looking at the B1 example and there appears to be a lot of other files and two other folders (include and src). I know about the Application Developer handbook but it doesn’t really cover these steps. Is John Francis’ “Hello World” starter template adequate for this or is it better for me to build this application from the ground up? If anybody could help that would be much appreciated or direct me to some good resources that cover this. Thank you.

What many people do is to pick one of the (many!) examples, which is closest to what their own simulation need is. Then they go through and modify the chunks of code appropriately to match their geometry, their source, etc.

To follow this path, you should copy (cp -r or the Windoze equivalent) the chosen example directory to a new location with a new name, and then start messing with stuff.

Setting up an application directory from scratch, and writing the main() from scratch, is a pain for a new user. Save that for when you’re more experienced and see how all the pieces fit together.

1 Like

Thank you so much! I assume the only file you write code on is that main() file?

Nope! Go through one of the examples in detail, like B1; don’t just compile and run it. For each of the files you see in include/ and src/ (they go together in pairs), cross-reference back to the corresponding section of the Application Developers Guide, so you see why that file is there.