Material definition order

Hello,

I am a novice GEANT4 user, so I apologize in advance if I’m writting a too basic question (didn’t find here). I was trying to simulate the dose in a G4Sphere by different particles taking as reference the exampleB1.

I defined the sphere material as a mixture of different elements. The problem is that I get different dose values when the material definition order is changed. For example, for ~water:

G4Material* env_mat = new G4Material(name = “env_mat”, 1.000 * g / cm3, ncomponents = 2);
env_mat->AddElement(elO, fractionmass= 88.88);
env_mat->AddElement(elH, fractionmass= 11.12);

G4Material* env_mat = new G4Material(name = “env_mat”, 1.000 * g / cm3, ncomponents = 2);
env_mat->AddElement(elH, fractionmass= 11.12);
env_mat->AddElement(elO, fractionmass= 88.88);

the dose changes as well, as if the mixture was not homegeneous or built as a different material layers.

I’ve modified the code in order to get rid of the default kinematics randomly distributed setting ‘SetParticlePosition(G4ThreeVector(x0, y0, z0))’ to a fixed value of (x0, y0, z0). I’ve also set seeds with the macro command: /random/setSeeds 0 0, but still have different dose values when altering the order of the elements above.

I have also tried to modify the default example by defining the envelope material (H2O as shown before) and get different dose results as well, when “gunning” neutrons.

I appreciate if someone can help me out, cause I don’t know if the results should actually vary and there is a material order standard to define materials or I’m wrong with the code

Thank you in advance.

I think the fraction should be between 0 and 1, and add up to 1. Maybe this could fix it?

env_mat->AddElement(elO, fractionmass= 88.88* perCent);
env_mat->AddElement(elH, fractionmass= 11.12* perCent);

Hello weller,