Neutron Absorption in G4-AIR seems to high

Hello, I am very new to using Geant4 and encountered a problem I can’t wrap my hand around. In my setup, I shoot neutron with an energy of 5.5 MeV at a detector. The whole setup is located in a box with air and therefore I used the Geant4 Material G4_AIR. With this setup, the neutrons lose all their energy after about 1cm, which is not realistic.

To understand the problem I build “air” from the ground up with the exact material proportions as G4_AIR should be consist of. (I used https://geant4.web.cern.ch/sites/geant4.web.cern.ch/files/geant4/collaboration/working_groups/geometry/training/D1-Materials.pdf page 18 for that). My code for this looks like this:

With this material, the neutrons lose their energy after around 4.2 cm, which is the expected value. So I am a little bit confused about why this divergence occurs and I would like to understand it.

Yes it is definitely too high, but I do not think it is the material definition. There is no way that 5.5 MeV neutrons should lose all their energy in 4.2 cm or 1 cm of air. In fact, it should hardly lose any energy. Can you show a picture of your geometry? How are you measuring energy loss of the neutron?

I am so sorry! I meant alpha-particles the whole way. I do’t know why I wrote neutrons everywhere instead of alpha-particles. (But I think I can’t change the title anymore)
My setup is just a box filled with air and at some distance a detector (diamond) and the absorbed energy in the detector is measured. So when the alpha source is 4.2 cm away there should be no measured energy left.

1. So you are measuring energy loss of the alpha as 5.5MeV minus the energy deposited in the detector?

2. The two materials should give the same result for the range of the alpha and I agree that ~4.5cm is the correct value.

3. Is there any material in front of the diamond detector?