No Text, Repeating Shader Errors with Qt5 / OpenGL

I have been using Geant4 on Mac for a few years (10.02.p02) but needed to upgrade my OS (from 10.11 to 10.15). I have reinstalled Geant4 (10.06.p01) and now whenever I run the visualization (OGL with Qt5 and X11 support), no text is drawn, and I get a constantly repeating error message about creating shaders:

Could not create shader of type 1.
Vertex shader for simpleShaderProg (MainVertexShader & PositionOnlyVertexShader) failed to compile
Could not create shader of type 2.
Fragment shader for simpleShaderProg (MainFragmentShader & ShockingPinkSrcFragmentShader) failed to compile
QGLShaderProgram: could not create shader program
Errors linking simple shader:
Could not create shader of type 1.
Vertex shader for blitShaderProg (MainWithTexCoordsVertexShader & UntransformedPositionVertexShader) failed to compile
Fragment shader for blitShaderProg (MainFragmentShader & ImageSrcFragmentShader) failed to compile
QGLShaderProgram: could not create shader program
Errors linking blit shader:
Warning: “” failed to compile!
…etc

My question is, is there any way to resolve this error while still using Qt5? I have tried the build Geant4 without X11 support, but it won’t work on my system. I’ve tried building other versions of Geant4 (10.04.p03), and the same problem remains.

I have found that forcing Geant4 to build with Qt4 avoids this issue, but causes a different problem, which is that the visualization only fills 25% of the viewport window (see: this post). If anyone knows how to fix that issue in Qt4, I’d be interested to know as well.

Hi Kris

On Mac, Qt and X11 don’t sit well together. The symptoms are the messages you describe and no text (or grabbed text). I’m afraid we do not have a solution. Apart from that things seem to work correctly.

I usually build with Qt alone, which works fine for me. You say “it won’t work for you”; can you give some details?