Output filename from macro

Hello,
I am quite new to Geant4 and using the last version Geant4 v11.0.3
Right now I am trying to update a bit a code that was written about 10 years ago, and my goal is to set the ROOT output file name directly from a macro file.
In the code already written, there is a file called PrimaryMessenger.cc, containing the following code:

fileCmd = new G4UIcmdWithAString(“/mydet/filename”,this);
fileCmd->SetGuidance(“Select ROOT file name”);
fileCmd->SetParameterName(“filename”,true);
fileCmd->SetDefaultValue(“output.root”);

So by using /mydet/filename whatever_name.root I should be able to output a ROOT file.
But I am also creating a ROOT output file from the RunAction.cc file, and giving it a name there:

auto analysisManager = G4AnalysisManager::Instance();
G4String fileName = “whatever_name.root”;
analysisManager->OpenFile(fileName);

So basically it works well when I change the filename from the RunAction.cc file but I’d like to use the fileCmd variable defined in the other file and all my tries were not successful.
My guess is that I’m overwriting the macro call with my hard coded RunAction.cc output file creation.
Would you have an idea on how to solve that? (I already searched for that on geant4 forum but nothing clearly helped me)
Thanks in advance.

I believe you need to implement the void RunActionMessenger::SetNewValue(G4UIcommand* command, G4String newValue) in your PrimaryMessenger.cc:

void RunActionMessenger::SetNewValue(G4UIcommand* command, G4String newValue) {
    if( command == fileCmd) {
        fRunAction->setFilename(newValue);
    }
}

, where you make the call to set the value for your filename in the runAction:

void RunAction::setFilename(G4String fileName) {
    fFileName = G4String(fileName);
}

The hardcoded fileName in your RunAction.cc needs to be replaced with the respective class data member:

auto analysisManager = G4AnalysisManager::Instance();
if(fFileName.size()) // or whatever check is necessesary :)