Physics List(s) for high AND low energy neutrons

Hi,

I am studying the background due to neutron activation. I used the Physics List NeutronHP from the hadr04 example, however it arrives only up to 20 MeV; my problem is that the neutron spectrum in my site arrives up to 100 MeV, and those high energy neutrons could be relevant, since they are the ones most likely to pass through the shielding.
How can I tell G4 to use NeutronHP only up to a certain energy?

1 Like

NeutronHP is based on evaluated neutron databases, and these only have experimental data up to 20 MeV. You have to use other physics for higher energies. If you artificially tell NeutronHP to be valid up to a higher energy, it will simply take the cross sections at 20 MeV for all energies above.

Hi,

thanks for the reply, but this is definitely not what it’s happening, if I run the code it crashes, I get the error

-------- EEEE ------- G4Exception-START -------- EEEE -------
*** G4Exception : had001
issued by : G4CrossSectionDataStore::GetIsoCrossSection
No isotope cross section found for neutron off Element H in Galactic Z= 1 A= 1 E(MeV)= 23.5092

*** Fatal Exception *** core dump ***
G4Track (0x56457068b560) - track ID = 1, parent ID = 0
Particle type : neutron - creator process : not available
Kinetic energy : 23.5092 MeV - Momentum direction : (0.0953953,-0.781244,-0.616893)
Step length : 0 fm - total energy deposit : 0 meV
Pre-step point : (290.399,2148.63,1047.22) - Physical volume : Walls (Galactic)

defined by : not available
    Post-step point : (290.399,2148.63,1047.22) - Physical volume : Walls (Galactic)
    defined by : Decay - step status : 7
    *** Note: Step information might not be properly updated.

-------- EEEE -------- G4Exception-END --------- EEEE -------

*** G4Exception: Aborting execution ***
Aborted (core dumped)

If I artificially limit the energy below 20 MeV, the code runs without problems.