[Solved] Secondaries not tracked with energies above thrershold

Dear Developers and Users,

I’m still a bit new to Geant4. I found a strange behaviour with respect to (muon) ionization.

So i have a simple setup:
1 experiment hall, inside there is 1 Pb absorber and a sensitive detector (built up by small boxes). (I shoot 500 MeV negative muons through the Pb towards the sensitive detector.)

When i checked the tracking with verbosity level 2 (one_primary.txt (99.4 KB) ) i found that there are electrons created (in Pb) above tracking threshold (which is now about 57.88 keV), but they don’t get tracked.
What’s stranger, when i shoot 1000 primary muons (with the exact same parameters) eventually some of the electrons (created by muIoni process in the Pb) get tracked. (tracked_secondaries_created_by_muIoni.txt (14.2 KB), the Shielding_Box is the absorber) And there is no energy difference between the tracked and untracked electrons. (ie. some electrons with higher energies don’t get tracked, while some with lower energies get tracked.)

I got this list of secondaries from UserSteppingAction with this code:

if ( (step->GetTrack()->GetCurrentStepNumber() == 1) && (step->GetTrack()->GetParentID() != 0) ){
const G4Track
partTrack=step->GetTrack();
G4cout << std::fixed << std::setprecision(3);
G4cout << "Tracked secondary: " << std::setw(12) << partTrack->GetParticleDefinition()->GetParticleName() <<
" Energy before 1st step (MeV): " << step->GetPreStepPoint()->GetKineticEnergy() <<
"\tEnergy after 1st step (MeV): " << step->GetPostStepPoint()->GetKineticEnergy() <<
"\tCreated at: " << step->GetTrack()->GetOriginTouchable()->GetVolume()->GetName() <<
"\tCreated by this: " << step->GetTrack()->GetCreatorProcess()->GetProcessName() << G4endl;
}

So my question is, why might some electrons get tracked and others not?

Regards, Gábor