statistical simulation error and mesh scoring

Hello to all users

I am a beginner with Geant4

I want to calculate the dose distribution in a room containing a radioactive source.
I think it’s okay to use a scoring mesh, instead of creating multiple sensitive detectors, which is a bit frustrating and increases the time to compute.

My mesh file is:

########################################
/score/create/boxMesh boxMesh_1

/score/mesh/boxSize 150. 150. 2. cm
/score/mesh/nBin 50 50 1
/score/quantity/doseDeposit AbsDose
/score/close

/score/list

/vis/disable
/run/beamOn 1000000
/vis/enable

drawing projections

/score/drawProjection boxMesh_1 AbsDose

Dump scorers to a file

/score/dumpQuantityToFile boxMesh_1 AbsDose AbsDose.txt

My question relates to the statistical simulation error which decreases by increasing the number of particles generated. In mesh scoring mode, there is no indicator for this. How I can choose a number N of particles generated so that the statistical error is less than 5% and then my results are confident.
Is it possible in my AbsDose.txt scoring file I also calculate the statistical simulation error?
your opinions interest me, thank you

hello!I have the same problem in “choose a number N of particles generated so that the statistical error is less than 5%”.Did you solve this problem?

I don’t believe there is a way to reliably calculate statistical errors in general, as they would so heavily depend on the geometry / situation. Instead, I would run multiple runs with a number N of particles, and check the statistics for each mesh cell in these multiple runs.

Under the assumption that a subset of cells should “see” similar/identical dose, you could also calculate statistics for the subset of these cells in one single run.
If it is somehow not feasible to make multiple runs with a large N, you could also make multiple runs with smaller N, plot the error vs. N and then extrapolate.