Std::vector in split classes

I am studying the MT architecture of Geant4, and I cannot understand this note on page 52 of the toolkit developers guide:

Note: A note on content of split classes. Data fields of the split class should have a size that is known at compile time. Thus objects like std::vector cannot be contained in split class data, but pointers to these object can.

I understand the requirement of classes having a known size, but I don’t understand why std::vector should not fulfill it. The size of std::vector actually is known and fixed: in most implementations it is simply 24 bytes, i.e. 3 pointers. So one can effectively create a std::vector<int> *vptr, instantiate it with say 10 elements and then write e.g. vptr[3].resize(5). So I’d say that a G4Splitter<std::vector<int>>, for example, should work without problems, and likely any other G4Splitter<A> where A contains a std::vector. The only data types that come to my mind that would create trouble are variable-size, C-style arrays, which however are a very bad idea on their own and better avoided at all.

So I don’t understand the meaning of the note. Is my understanding wrong, or is the note wrong? Thanks.

I suspect you are getting that std::vector is 24 bytes via sizeof(std::vector<int>). This is because std::vector<T> contains three data members: a pointer to the start of the memory, a pointer to the end of the currently used memory, and a pointer to the end of the currently allocated memory. std::vector is essentially is just a wrapper around a C-style array which handles dynamic allocation for you. Vectors guaranteed that T* is contiguous in memory so you cannot have G4Splitter<std::vector<int>> because growing that vector would cause the end of the allocated memory to overlap with the start of the next instances memory location. If you have pointers to vectors, those internal pointers can be moved around to accommodate the new sizes.