Trying to implement liquid scintillator and PMT as a total beginner

Hello all,

I’m currently trying to build a simulation where I have a muon beam going down towards a liquid scintillator, and I’d like to detect the resulting scintillation (and Cherenkov) light using a photomultiplier tube (based off a Hamamatsu R7081 PMT module). Unfortunately as I am a total beginner to Geant4 and C++, I am struggling to actually implement all the necessary properties to get the simulation up and running, and so I was hoping for some guidance on these issues.

At present, I have succesfully managed to generate a muon beam pointing down towards a box (my main volume), with it penetrating through a cylinder. The cylinder I have assigned the scintillation material (that I have created), and have tried to get Cherenkov light from it, to no avail. Currently, the code for the scintillator looks like this:

G4Material Scint = new G4Material(“Scint”, 1.000g/cm3, 3);
Scint->AddMaterial(H2O, 89.0perCent);
Scint->AddMaterial(LAB, 10.0
perCent);
Scint->AddMaterial(PPO, 1.0*perCent);

G4double energy[2] = {3.5*GeV, 4.*GeV};
G4double rindexScint[2] = {1.333, 1.333};

G4MaterialPropertiesTable *mptScint = new G4MaterialPropertiesTable();
mptScint->AddProperty(“RINDEX”, energy, rindexScint, 2);

Is there anything from here that would indicate why no Cherenkov light is visible? I haven’t gotten any error messages for this part.

Apart from that, I am trying to figure out how to get the scintillator to actually produce scintillation light, and how to assign it all the expected properties like scintillation yield. I am not sure how to go about that part, and have been confused by the examples I’ve seen so far. How many more properties should I assign the scintillator? Do I need to change any files apart from my construction.cc?